Frequent question: What latitude is North Africa?

Which line of latitude is Africa located?

Africa is a continent on Earth at latitude 1°30′00.00″ North, longitude 15°00′00.00″ East.

What latitude passes north Africa?

The 23rd parallel north is a circle of latitude that is 23 degrees north of the Earth’s equatorial plane, about 50 kilometres (31 mi) south of the Tropic of Cancer. It crosses Africa, Asia, the Indian Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, North America, the Caribbean and the Atlantic Ocean.

What is north latitude?

Latitude is the measurement of distance north or south of the Equator. … The latitude of the North Pole is 90 degrees N, and the latitude of the South Pole is 90 degrees S. Like the poles, some circles of latitude are named.

Which passes through the middle of Africa?

Tropic of CapricorAnswer. The famous Tropic of Capricorn is an imaginary line of latitude encircling the Earth at approximately 23.5° south of the equator. Unlike the Tropic of Cancer, the Tropic of Capricorn passes mainly through water – with the exception of Africa.

Which three lines of latitude passes through Africa?

Answer: Tropic of cancer,Tropic of Capricorn and Prime Meridian.

Is 0 degrees north or south?

The prime meridian is the line drawn north to south at 0° (0 degrees) longitude. Sentences: The prime meridian divides Earth into the Eastern Hemisphere and the Western Hemisphere.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Do they have fast food in Africa?

Why there are 180 latitudes and 360 longitudes?

Latitude lines are comprehensive circles, with the middle at 0° and the pole at 90°. The South Pole and the North Pole have separated by 180° apart, The longitude lines cross from the North Pole to the South Pole. … This is why it begins at zero and finishes at 360 longitudes.

Why there are 181 latitudes and 360 longitudes?

Longitude lines runs from North to south pole means a complete circles and hence covers 360 degrees and that is why there are 360 longitudes. … Each section from equator to pole is 90 degrees and two poles have 2 quarters of circle/globe hence 90X2 180 lattitudes. adding the Equator it becomes 181 latitudes.