Is Afrikaans an official language in South Africa?

What are the 11 official languages of South Africa?

Generally considered to be among the most multilingual countries in the world and among the most multiethnic in Africa, post-apartheid South Africa has 11 official languages recognized in its democratic constitution: English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Ndebele, Zulu, Tswana, Swati, Sotho, Southern Sotho, Venda and Tsonga.

What language is spoken in South Africa Johannesburg?


Johannesburg eGoli (Zulu)
First languages (2011)
• Zulu 23.41%
• English 20.10%
• Sesotho 9.61%

What is the main religion in South Africa?

Almost 80% of South African population adheres to the Christian faith. Other major religious groups are Hindus, Muslims and Jews. A minority of South African population does not belong to any of the major religions, but regard themselves as traditionalists or of no specific religious affiliation.

What does Afrikaans stand for?

Afrikaans (South African language)

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: How much rain falls in Central Africa?