Question: Which African countries does the Prime Meridian pass through?

What African countries does the Prime Meridian run through?

The Prime Meridian crosses through five African countries. Starting from north to south, these countries are: Algeria, Mali, Burkina Faso, Tongo, and Ghana.

What 8 countries does the Prime Meridian pass through?

There are eight nations located on the Prime Meridian: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Mali, Spain, Togo, and the United Kingdom.

What ocean does the prime meridian pass through?

The IRM prime meridian also passes through many seas and oceans: the Arctic Ocean, the Greenland Sea, the Norwegian Sea, the North Sea, the English Channel, the Mediterranean Sea, the Atlantic Ocean and the Southern Ocean. The Moon, Mars, Venus, Jupiter, Pluto and Titan all have their own prime meridians.

What is the prime meridian in Africa?

Africa is the most centrally located of all the continents. The prime meridian (the Greenwich meridian) o passes through the Atlas Mountains and cuts through the coast of West Africa close to Accra, while the Equator (latitude 0 degrees) also divides the continent into 2 equal parts North and South.

What cities are on the prime meridian?

List of prime meridians on Earth

Locality Modern longitude Meridian name
Greenwich 0° 00′ 05.33″ W United Kingdom Ordnance Survey Zero Meridian
Greenwich 0° 00′ 00.00″ IERS Reference Meridian
Paris 2° 20′ 14.025″ E Paris meridian
Brussels 4° 22′ 4.71″ E
IT IS INTERESTING:  How does the equator affect Africa?

Why was Greenwich chosen as prime meridian?

The decision was based on the argument that by naming Greenwich as Longitude 0º, it would be advantageous to the largest number of people. Therefore the Prime Meridian at Greenwich became the centre of world time.

Why prime meridian is important?

The prime meridian line runs in Greenwich, London, and England. It is important because: It is the starting point for the measuring system called longitude. The prime meridian is also used as the basis for the world’s time zones.

What countries are on the Meridian?

It is an imaginary line which runs from the North Pole to the South Pole and passes through England, France, Spain, Algeria, Mali, Burkina Faso, Togo, Ghana and Antarctica.