What are the organs of African Union and their functions?

What are the main organs of the African Union?

AU Organs

  • Judicial and Human Rights Institutions.
  • L’Assemblée de l’Union.
  • Legal Organs.
  • The Commission.
  • The Economic, Social & Cultural Council.
  • The Executive Council.
  • The Financial Institutions.
  • The Pan-African Parliament.

What are the functions of the African Union?

Defend the sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence of its Member States; Accelerate the political and socio-economic integration of the continent; Promote and defend African common positions on issues of interest to the continent and its peoples; Encourage international cooperation.

Which organ of the African Union is responsible for the day to day activities?

The AU Commission. Share: The African Union Commission (AUC) is the AU’s secretariat and undertakes the day to day activities of the Union. It is based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

What are the structures of African Union?

In structure, the OAU began as one entity, whereas the AU, integrating itself with the African Economic Community and building other structures, consists of: the Assembly (determines common policies); the Executive Council (coordinates and makes decisions on common policies); the Pan-African Parliament (implements

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is there a Spanish speaking country in Africa?

Who funds the African Union?

The AU is currently not financed in a predictable, sustainable, equitable or accountable manner. It is heavily dependent on donor funding to run its programs and operations, and this is further compounded by the fact that >40% of Member States do not pay their yearly contributions to the institution.

Does the African Union still exist?

The African Union (AU) is a continental union consisting of 55 member states located on the continent of Africa.

African Union.

African Union show
• Abuja Treaty 3 June 1991
• Sirte Declaration 9 September 1999
• African Union founded 9 July 2002
• Admission of South Sudan 9 July 2011

What are the problems of African Union?

The crux of all the identified challenges in African Union member states is insecurity and incessant conflicts, overdependence on foreign Aids, corruption, political instability/inept leadership, inadequate infrastructural development, still narrowed down in all and majorly to lack of good governance.

Are there 54 or 55 countries in Africa?

48 countries share the area of mainland Africa, plus six island nations are considered to be part of the continent. All in all, there are 54 sovereign African countries and two disputed areas, namely Somaliland (autonomous region of Somalia) and Western Sahara (occupied by Morocco and claimed by the Polisario).

How does African Union make decisions?

Two-thirds of AU members are required to form a quorum at any Assembly meeting. The Assembly makes decisions by consensus or, where consensus is not possible, by a two-thirds majority vote by Member States (Constitutive Act, article 7).

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why did Germany lose North Africa?