What season are we in in South Africa?

What months are the seasons in South Africa?

The calendar dates for the seasons are as follows:

  • Autumn/Fall – 1 March – 31 May.
  • Winter – 1 June – 31 August.
  • Spring – 1 September – 30 November.
  • Summer – 1 December – 28/29 February.

What season is spring in South Africa?

When does spring start in South Africa? Are you asking yourself, when is spring in South Africa? If so, the country experiences spring from August all through to September. The country experiences spring for two months.

Does it ever snow in South Africa?

Snow is a rare occurrence, with snowfall having been experienced in May 1956, August 1962, June 1964, September 1981, August 2006 (light), on 27 June 2007, accumulating up to 10 centimetres (3.9 in) in the southern suburbs, and most recently on 7 August 2012.

Does South Africa have 4 seasons?

Unlike Africa’s equatorial countries, where the year is split into rainy and dry seasons, South Africa does have four seasons—summer, fall, winter, and spring—only they are flipped from the seasons in the Northern Hemisphere.

Is May cold in South Africa?

May to September –Winter

Temperatures are pleasant; typically 12°C/54°F in the morning and 27°C/81°F in the afternoon. … It cools down to an average of 20°C/68°F in the afternoon. June, July & August – Kruger & Around: Morning game drives in open vehicles will be cold, so it’s advisable to pack warm winter clothing.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How many cars were sold in Africa?

How safe is South Africa?

South Africa has a high level of crime, including rape and murder. The risk of violent crime to visitors travelling to the main tourist destinations is generally low. The South African authorities prioritise protecting tourists and tourism police are deployed in several towns and cities.