When did South Africa host the World Cup?

Who won the 2010 World Cup?

Which country won the South Africa World Cup?

The tournament was first held in 1987 and was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. Four countries have won the trophy; New Zealand and South Africa three times, Australia twice, and England once. South Africa are the current champions, having defeated England in the 2019 tournament final.

How many stadiums did South Africa built for World Cup?

The matches were played in 10 stadiums in nine host cities around the country, with the opening and final played at the Soccer City stadium in South Africa’s largest city, Johannesburg.

Who is the best player in World Cup 2010?

Most Valuable Players of the 2010 FIFA World Cup

  • Wesley Sneijder. The driving force behind the impressive Dutch squad that finished second in the 2010 World Cup. …
  • Diego Forlan. Uruguay were the surprise package of the 2010 World Cup as they made an unprecedented run to the semi-finals. …
  • Thomas Muller. …
  • Carles Puyol.

How many times has South Africa won the Rugby World Cup?

The Rugby World Cup has been held eight times, with both South Africa and New Zealand winning it three times, and Australia twice each. The other winner was England in 2003. England is the only nation from the northern hemisphere to have won the tournament.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who abolished the death penalty in South Africa?

Why was South Africa banned from the World Cup?

In the World Cup, the Greek government banned South Africa from the 1979 competition in Athens. South Africa competed in the 1980 edition in Bogotá. The prospect of their appearing in the 1981 edition, due to be staged at Waterville in Ireland, caused it to be cancelled.

How many World Cup did South Africa won?

List of Cricket World Cup Winners: Table

Cricket World Cup
2003 South Africa Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia won by 7 wickets

How far did South Africa get in the 2010 World Cup?

During the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, they beat France 2–1 and drew 1–1 to Mexico, but lost 0–3 to Uruguay. They lost out on progression to the round of 16, on goal difference.