Your question: What is the second highest court in South Africa?

How many high courts are in South Africa?

There are currently 14 Provincial Divisions of the High Court. They are situated in the following areas: Eastern Cape High Court (Bhisho) East Eastern Cape High Court (Grahamstown)

What are second level courts?

Regional Trial Courts are also known as Second Level Courts, which were established among the thirteen Judicial regions in the Philippines consisting of Regions I to XII and the National Capital Region (NCR). There are as many Regional Trial Courts in each region as the law mandates.

What is the second charter of justice?

The Second Charter of Justice was issued on 27 November 1826. This Charter abolished the Recorder’s Court, which served only the Prince of Wales’ Island, and established the Court of Judicature of Prince of Wales’ Island, Singapore and Malaya. … The Governor and the Resident Councillor acted as two judges of the court.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How is company tax calculated in South Africa?

What are the 3 types of court?

Three levels of court

  • Court of First Instance (federal and local)
  • Court of Appeal (federal and local)
  • Federal Supreme Court (at the federal level) and the Court of Cassation at the local level of the emirates which have independent judicial departments.

What are the 5 special courts in South Africa?

The Specialised Courts are:

  • Competition Appeal Court.
  • Electoral Court.
  • Land Claims Court.
  • Labour and Labour Appeal Court {Play}

What is rule of law in South Africa?

What is The Rule of Law? The Rule of Law, in its most basic form, is the principle that no person is above the law. The rule follows from the idea that truth, and therefore law, is based upon fundamental principles which can be discovered, but which cannot be created through an act of will.

What are the main sources of law in South Africa?

South African law has more than one source:

  • Legislation.
  • Case Law (court decisions)
  • Common Law.
  • Custom.
  • Old writers / authors.
  • Indigenous Law.

What is the court hierarchy in South Africa?

the Constitutional Court; the Supreme Court of Appeal; the High Courts, including any high court of appeal that may be established by an Act of Parliament to hear appeals from High Courts; the Magistrates’ Courts; and.

What is MTC in law?

Municipal Trial Courts (MTC)

What are the regular and special courts?

Special courts differ from general-jurisdiction courts in several other respects besides having a more limited jurisdiction. Cases are more likely to be disposed of without trial in special courts, and if there is a trial or hearing, it is usually heard more rapidly than in a court of general jurisdiction.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why was Africa so appealing to imperialist countries?

What does the lower court do?

A lower court is a court from which an appeal may be taken. In relation to an appeal from one court to another, the lower court is the court whose decision is being reviewed, which may be the original trial court or appellate court lower in rank than the superior court which is hearing the appeal.

Who is the most senior judge in the world?

The chief justice of the United States is the chief judge of the Supreme Court of the United States and the highest-ranking officer of the U.S. federal judiciary.

Chief Justice of the United States
First holder John Jay

Who is the best judge in South Africa?

Mogoeng Thomas Reetsang Mogoeng (born 14 January 1961) is a South African judge who has served as the Chief Justice of South Africa since 8 September 2011.

Mogoeng Mogoeng.

The Honourable Mogoeng Mogoeng
Appointed by President Nelson Mandela
Personal details
Born 14 January 1961 Zeerust, Union of South Africa
Nationality South African

Can multiple legal systems coexist in one country?

Legal pluralism refers to situations of legal coexistence in a single social field. … Thus, one legal system may offer the right to appeal decisions from another, or a litigant may be able to choose among several competing systems.