How many borders does Kenya have?

How many countries border Kenya?

Kenya straddles the equator in eastern Africa and covers 582,646 km². Kenya borders Ethiopia and Sudan to the north, Somalia to the east, and Tanzania to the south. Kenya’s coastline meets the Indian Ocean to the south-east, while Uganda is the country’s neighbour to the west. The capital of Kenya is Nairobi.

Why are Kenya’s borders straight?

Kenya now has de facto control of the area. The dispute arose from the 1914 treaty in which a straight parallel line was used to divide territories that were both part of the British Empire. However the Turkana people—nomadic herders continued to move to and from the border and traditionally grazed in the area.

Which country shares the longest border with Kenya?

The total length of the land border is about 2,148 miles divided between five countries. Ethiopia’s border with Kenya is the longest with a length of about 539 miles.

Is Kenya a poor country?

Although Kenya’s economy is the largest and most developed in eastern and central Africa, 36.1% (2015/2016) of its population lives below the international poverty line. This severe poverty is mainly caused by economic inequality, government corruption and health problems.

What are the two main sources of income in Kenya?


  • Agriculture Market Systems. The agricultural sector is the backbone of the economy, contributing approximately 33 percent of Kenya’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP). …
  • Trade and AGOA. …
  • Access to Finance and Investment. …
  • Energy Sector.
IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the rainy season in Uganda?

Why are Kenyans so good at running?

Several factors have been proposed to explain the extraordinary success of the Kenyan and Ethiopian distance runners, including (1) genetic predisposition, (2) development of a high maximal oxygen uptake as a result of extensive walking and running at an early age, (3) relatively high hemoglobin and hematocrit, (4) …

Who owns ilemi triangle?

The Ilemi Triangle is a disputed territory, which is claimed by Sudan, Kenya and Ethiopia. Following numerous efforts to demarcate the area over the last 100 years, Ethiopia, Kenya and Sudan have all made conflicting de jure and de facto claims.

Which is the largest relief region in Kenya?

The Great Rift Valley is part of an intra-continental ridge system that runs through Kenya from north to south. It is part of the Gregory Rift, the eastern branch of the East African Rift, which starts in Tanzania to the south and continues northward into Ethiopia.